What is an ICT?

I took the quiz suggested to take in week one’s tutorial about defining what an ICT is and what is not. A very interesting question I thought. Before taking the quiz I took the time to have a think about it. At first I thought ICT where computers or TV’s to be honest. I did a quick google search to define the word “ICT. Google came up with this

ICT (information and communications technology – or technologies) is an umbrella term that includes any communication device or application, encompassing: radio, television, cellular phones, computer and network hardware and software, satellite systems and so on, as well as the various services and applications …”

(https://www.google.com.au/#q=what+iss+a+ICT

This probed my thought process that ICT is not just a digital as such! After taking the quiz I got 7/10. I got question two wrong as to be honest it looked quite old and I didn’t know what it was so I just guessed (probably not appropriate but I didn’t have much else of a choice at the time). I also got question three wrong. I thought that a overhead projector would have been considered and ICT as they were used so actively in the classroom but clearly they are not an ICT. The last question I got wrong was question 10 – trick question there – the TV displayed was actually an old school analog TV NOT a digital TV. I didn’t really think that an old school TV would not be considered and ICT.

Compared to previous results I believe I did well. Past results suggested the question two was answered wrong as well while question three suggested that in the past most students got this answer correct. Question ten’s past results suggested that many students also got this question wrong. So overall I am happy with my results and it was very interested to take part in this quiz.

 

Leave a Reply

